Tiorba Arpeggiata

Marina Belova - tiorba

Marina Belova is a Russian lutenist.

Her repertoire includes Renaissance and Baroque lute music, as well as works for theorbo and Baroque guitar. She collaborates as a guest musician with various ensembles, including “Gnessin Baroque”, “Pratum Integrum”, “Musica Viva”, “La Voce Strumentale”, “ Questa Musica”, “Alta Capella” and others.

In 2019 she won the international ancient music competition "Maurizio Pratola" (L'Aquila, Italy), the only one in the world aimed specifically at lutenists.

She studied with Andrey Chernyshov, with whom she later founded “The First Lute School” in Russia, where she currently teaches. She holds the course “Tradition and performance practice of baroque music” at the Kosygin State University in Moscow and “Propaedeutics of the lute” at the Academic Musical College of the Tchaikovsky State Conservatory in Moscow.

In 2023 she graduated from the Verona Conservatory with professor Franco Pavan.

In addition to regular concerts in Russia, she has participated in solo concerts in European festivals: Festival Oude Muziek Utrecht (Netherlands, Utrecht, 2023), Festiv’Alba, La Riccitelli, Concerti Barattelli (Italy, 2022), Grandezze & Meraviglie (Italy, 2022), as well as at the Fondazione Ugo e Olga Levi in Venezia and at the Associazione Musicale Karl Jenkins (2023), Festival Alte Musik Zürich (Switzerland, 2021), “Festival Barocco Alessandro Stradella di Viterbo e Nepi” (Italy, 2019).

Tiorba arpeggiata
The theorbo is an instrument that fascinates listeners with its deep, delicate, intense sound. Familiar to all lovers of baroque music from being used in orchestras and ensembles, the theorbo also boasts an interesting solo repertoire, which reflects the experiments and compositions of Italian musicians of the first half of the 17th century, as well as the French style already established at the end of that century.

The theorbo has a reverse tuning, thanks to which “passages” or “diminutions” sound on it similar to the harp. All the composers who wrote for the theorbo used this technique which has the poetic name of "small bells". To this instrument there are several techniques to play and another very important one is the “arpeggio”. The most famous piece, the Toccata "Arpeggiata" by Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger, give the idea for a title of this concert program.
Another arpeggio piece transcribed for the theorbo is by Carl Friedrich Abel, which was initially composed for viola da gamba: another evidence of the dialogue that arose between the various instruments in that period.

All compositions in this concert have been selected to reveal the musical capabilities of the theorbo as a solo instrument both in the original repertoire and in the transcriptions.
The centerpiece of the program is Suite n. 2 in D minor by Johann Sebastian Bach. In the concert, compositions by Italian authors such as Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger, Alessandro Piccinini and Bellerofonte Castaldi rotate around it; French music will also be performed - several works by Robert de Visée, "Les Sylvaines" by François Couperin and "Les Voix Humaines" by Marin Marais.
All the arrangements of the pieces for viola da gamba and cello are realized for theorbo by Marina Belova.
Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger - Toccata VII

Alessandro Piccinini - Toccata VI
Alessandro Piccinini - Toccata cromatica
Bellerofonte Castaldi - Arpesca gagliarda
Alessandro Piccinini - Chiaccona

Carl Friedrich Abel - Arpeggio WV A1:A28 *
Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger - Passacaglia
Johann Sebastian Bach - Suite No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1008 *
Prelude, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Menuette I&II, Gigue

Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger
Toccata arpeggiata, Toccata III, Colascione, Canario

Robert de Visée - Prelude
François Couperin - Les Sylvaines *
Marin Marais - Les Voix Humaines *
Robert de Visée - Muzette, Chaconne